Wild garlic and warm weather

Oh, poor neglected blog! I would like to blame my extended blogging hiatus on returning to work, family illness, or embarking on a new house project… but despite all these things, I must admit that having a baby really kind of kicked my ass. Don’t get me wrong, I love being a mother, and my daughter is an absolute delight, but since having a baby I’ve really struggled to fit in all those things I used to love to do. Blog. Take photographs with my camera. Knit. Bake! Only now, 14 months later, am I slowly starting to get back into everything. Having a baby is all-encompassing, but it is nice to think about me again…and this poor little blog, which I plan to start updating regularly. So why not begin with a recipe!

Last week, when the weather turned warm (hooray!), we took a trip out into the countryside. We are in the process of renovating a house in the hills near Wrexham so went for a drive up there. The sun was warm, the air clear and the strong scent of wild garlic all around. We picked a large handful, as I’d been keen to find some ever since hearing about a recipe for wild garlic and cheese scones on the radio a couple of months ago.

Later, once Kitty was asleep, I whipped up a batch of these scones. They only require a few ingredients and are really quick and easy to make. And they taste delicious warm from the oven – with lashings of butter, of course. If, like me, you like your garlic strong, you’ll love them! Head on over to Emma Bradshaw’s blog for the recipe. And go get foraging!

IMG_6457IMG_6458IMG_6463IMG_6466IMG_6468

2 thoughts on “Wild garlic and warm weather

  1. These look so delicious Emily! Lots of wild garlic on the trail path in Erddig so I’ll pick some next time I’m out and give this a whirl.

    You should do a blog post about your renovation project- if it’s anything like the station house, it’ll be gorgeous! 🙂

    • They’re delicious Rhi, you should definitely give them a go. I still want to have a try at your pierogi recipe!
      Will be doing a post about the new place when we make a bit of progress, it’s still a building site! Watch this space 😊 xx

Leave a Reply

