Starburst baby blanket

More knitting, more projects, more babies to knit for! A lot of folks are having babies around us at the moment, so I have a little production line on the go. First up is this starburst pattern baby blanket. I’d wanted to have a go at crocheting starburst rounds for a while, having done the whole granny square thing to death.

IMG_2949

I spied the lovely pattern in The Gentle Art of Knitting by Jane Brocket, and after splurging on a rainbow selection of wool, set to work making a baby blanket for our friend Helen‘s new little lady, Thora.

IMG_2951
IMG_2945

Having already crocheted a full-sized granny square blanket for myself, I knew a baby blanket would be a great way to try out this lovely starburst pattern. Much smaller, and much quicker. Still, crocheting 30 squares is no mean feat, and with weaving in ends and sewing together, I was literally racing the baby to the finish line/birth day. Happily, she won, and knowing a little girl had been born meant I could go all out and finish the blanket off with a pink shell border, another crochet technique I’d been wanting to try for a while.

IMG_2964
IMG_2970
IMG_2972

This blanket was really fun to make, and I loved playing about with the colours. So effective, and so pretty! I have seen lots of lovely colour starburst combinations on Instagram, in greys and blacks. I think a bright and colourful 70s style one with a black border would look awesome.

IMG_2982

2 thoughts on “Starburst baby blanket

Leave a Reply

