Lately: a trip to Nadinoo

A few weeks ago, over my birthday weekend, Jim and I went to Manchester for the day for some shopping, browsing and afternoon tea. I always love visiting my old home, seeing what’s changed and what’s new. Anyway, this time I had an ulterior motive for wanting to visit Manchester, and specifically, Manchester Craft and Design Centre. Tucked away in the heart of the Northern Quarter, the centre houses 30 artists and makers across two floors, all selling their handmade wares. There’s a huge variety of goods for sale, from jewellery to baby clothes to prints to paintings to toys, as well as a friendly café downstairs.

Back in April a new resident moved in to the design centre, with a studio I was very eager to visit. I’ve been a fan of Nadia Izruna for years, since she launched her beautiful handmade clothing label Nadinoo in 2009. Nadia has a real knack for design, and for choosing beautiful fabrics to compliment her collections of dresses, blouses and two-piece sets. In fact, Nadia was the person who introduced me to Liberty fabrics, in particular the Claire Aude fabric which later became the inspiration for the colour scheme for our wedding!

So when I found out that Nadia had opened a studio, I knew I had to see her beautiful pieces in person – and perhaps buy myself a birthday gift, of course! Meeting Nadia was a real treat after following her adventures for so long online. She was welcoming and friendly, and we had a lovely chat. I rummaged through the rails, tried dresses on and grinned with delight at Nadia’s pint-sized children’s collection. And I did treat myself to a birthday present; a custom-made Nadinoo dress, which arrived last week and is perfect for Autumn adventures. I’ll save that for another blog post…in the meantime, I hope you enjoy my photos of Nadia’s lovely workspace.

Unfortunately, Nadinoo’s studio doors will be closing for the last time on 15th September – so if you’re in the Manchester area, hot-foot it over there! I have no doubt that Nadia has many more exciting projects up her sleeve, including a children’s collection for Spring/Summer 2015, which I had the pleasure of viewing and which is THE CUTEST. In the meantime, you can follow Nadia’s adventures on her blog and shop her lovely clothes online. Stay tuned, more great things are coming from the Nadinoo camp.

IMG_2403
IMG_2431
IMG_2404
IMG_2415
IMG_2418
IMG_2422
IMG_2424
IMG_2425
IMG_2429
IMG_2436
IMG_2439
IMG_2441
IMG_2442
IMG_2443
IMG_2444
IMG_2446

Leave a Reply

