A Sweater for Spring

Recently, I raved about Anna Wilkinson and her book of wonderful knitting patterns. And even more recently – this past week, in fact – I finished knitting my first piece from her book: the simple fair isle band sweater. This sweater is a great project for a beginner looking for a bit more of a challenge: some ribbing, decreasing and fair isle colour-changing. The pretty pattern even inspired my beginner friend to have a go at fair isle knitting – and she loved it! The sweater was a delight to knit, and the bright colours helped me though some dark wintery afternoons. Today I will give you a little tour through the making of my sweater. Beware: image-heavy post ahead!

The sweater was the first thing I fell in love with when I flipped through Anna’s book last Autumn, with its bright and surprising colour combination. I would never have put deep mustard and raspberry pink together, but they work brilliantly. Two days after getting my hands on the book, I ordered my wool and set to work…

DSCF6105
DSCF6137
DSCF6130
DSCF6140
Front and back finished…

DSCF7264
Knitting the neckline with circular needles…

IMG_4049
Front and back and both sleeves finished…

IMG_3791
Blocking the front panel…

IMG_3792
And sewing the pieces together…

IMG_4091
IMG_4077
More blocking…

IMG_4096
One final bit of sewing…

IMG_4097
And it was done!

575726_10152672213355696_1402546780_n
I knit this sweater on and off throughout Autumn and Winter, but it seems the perfect thing to welcome Spring: woolly and warm, with short sleeves for those fleeting moments of afternoon sun. We had a lot of snow around these parts lately, but over the weekend the sun came out, so it was the perfect time for a little photoshoot. I teamed my sweater with high-waisted jeans and my beloved floral Doc Martens boots. And of course, a warm hat, because it’s still chilly out there you know! But it won’t be for long. My sweater says so.

IMG_4136
IMG_4160(1)
IMG_4167(1)
IMG_4168(1)
IMG_4172
IMG_4180

5 thoughts on “A Sweater for Spring

  1. I love this on you – I’m about to get my hands on a copy of Anna’s book and can’t wait to get knitting all kinds of winter bits. By the way, I love your blog, so much loveliness!

Leave a Reply

