A Valentine’s shop

This past weekend, I took part in a Valentine’s themed pop-up shop organised by Laura of Laura’s Attic. On Saturday she turned her studio in Mold, North Wales, into a one-day shop, offering the work of local artists and craftsellers to the public. The Attic was transformed into a mini fair, with a total of eight crafty ladies setting up stalls in one room. I was lucky enough to be invited along, and I think I speak for everyone involved when I say that the day was a big success. As well as my hand-knitted and sewn goods, my stall featured gorgeous cards by Suz Hughes, illustrator extraordinaire.

Laura did a great job of advertising the event, and the attic was full of enthusiasm and excited chatter all day. I had a lovely time talking to the other stallholders, some of whom I already knew and some I had the pleasure of meeting for the first time. I was already a big fan of lovely Jen, owner of the wonderful wood-based Loglike, as well as Jenny Murray and her beautiful ceramics. I also had the pleasure of meeting Lora Wyn and seeing her delicate, whimsical jewellery in person. I had a good natter with Sarah, owner of The Way to Blue, whose lovely cyanotype prints would definitely not look out of place in my blue and white kitchen.

Heather of Cinders Cottage Crafts was also in attendance, selling her stunning range of wooden animals, candle holders and other homeware (I treated myself to a little wooden mouse). I also met Sophie Tilley, whose delightful wooden dolls (boasting beautiful packaging) make the perfect present for a special little girl. Last but most definitely not least was Heledd Roberts, a local photographer and lovely lady who, it turns out, enjoys a good film camera as much as I do.

It was a real pleasure spending the day in the company of such talented and friendly women, chatting about everything from knitting, craft projects and running your own business to where to get fabric printed. The event was enjoyed by everyone, with customers filling the attic all day. I even overheard one excited customer saying, “I’ve touched everything here!” I took a lot of photos during the day, some of which you can see below. You can find more over on flickr.

IMG_3357

IMG_3361

IMG_3370

IMG_3377

IMG_3380

IMG_3385

IMG_3386

IMG_3397

IMG_3402

IMG_3423

IMG_3426

IMG_3431

IMG_3432

IMG_3443

IMG_3449

IMG_3464

IMG_3467

IMG_3468

IMG_3470

IMG_3472

IMG_3474

Leave a Reply

