Lately: Liberty Christmas shop

The final part in my London trilogy is by no means the least. I’ve written about the wonderful knitting shop and craft fair I stumbled across on our last trip down south, and today is the turn of the CHRISTMAS SHOP. Yes, it’s time to get excited. Even back in September I was giddy as heck when, upon entering the lift in the Liberty store, I looked up to see that floor four contained a Christmas shop. Now, in late November, even looking back at the photos makes me downright giddy for that fast-approaching fuzzy-feeling time. I can’t wait!

To get you in the mood too, I would love to share my photos. If you haven’t ever been to Liberty before, I strongly recommend you add it to your “places to visit in London” list (we all have one, right?). Sitting majestically just off Regent Street in Soho, it is an enormous black and white mock-Tudor building which dominates the road. It is best viewed from Argyll Street, the pedestrianised street opposite, when its true size and beauty is clear.


Liberty is worth a visit just for a nose around the beautiful building, which was built in the late 1800s and has four huge floors. Each one has a mezzanine around a stunning middle section, through which hangs a shimmering glass centrepiece.


Liberty sells a huge array of items, from homewear such as cushions, candles, crockery, lighting and home furnishings (they even have a rug room!) to stationery, make up, perfume and accessories (the hat and scarf room is stunning), as well as clothes for men, women and children AND a lovely little flower shop. Phew!


Usually, though, I head straight from the little card and stationery shop up to the fabric and haberdashery section on the third floor. If you are crafty-minded, this too will be your favourite place. Packed full of Liberty’s own printed fabric (and clothes in said fabric), sewing and knitting accessories, it is hard to know where to start. It truly is a haven of loveliness.


In true Liberty style, the Christmas shop was equally jam-packed full of beautiful things. Christmas music played, lights were strung across the ceilings, and magical offerings peeked out from every corner: crackers and paper decorations and fat stuffed robins and furry reindeer and sparkly Christmas cards and wrapping paper, and hundreds and hundreds of different glittery shimmering Christmas baubles. It was a real winter wonderland! After a lot of umming and aahing I came away with my own little fat robin and oversized baby-pink pearlescent bauble. Beautiful.


I highly recommend you hop on down to Liberty to get some Christmas shopping done, but if you can’t make it to London you can always internet browse in the online Christmas shop. Just put some festive music on, get yourself a mulled wine, and imagine you’re there. Did I mention I’m off to London again this weekend to visit my brother? I’m sure he won’t mind a little stop-off…

Leave a Reply

