The dreamboat waistcoat

Another recently-finished project for you today, in the form of an obsession: waistcoats. My wardrobe is littered with them; a chaotic pink-grey-yellow-blue fair isle one from a vintage shop, a lady-like navy one that belonged to my aunty, a cute little woollen red number, a long 1970s cream crocheted one, and more recently, a pink and purple Welsh wool beauty bought from a charity shop for a mere £6! Oh my.

But clearly that wasn’t quite enough. I had the idea of knitting one myself, but I wasn’t sure what I wanted it to look like. The idea swam around in my head, a bit too vague to properly grasp, but I knew it was there. Until the day I did a little internet search and came across Janet of the Yellow Pink and Sparkly blog. Let me tell you, this woman is a whizz at designing patterns.

She had seen a waistcoat she liked and thought, I can recreate that. And she totally did! It’s a vintage-style fair isle number, and although her version is more beige-y, I realised I could achieve my dream colour combination of tea-rose pink, lemon yellow, deep red and a lovely leafy green. And so, after a quick trip to Abakhan, I set about knitting…


Janet’s directions are great, her fair isle charts extremely clear and once I had the hang of the pattern I was away. Doing a little here at knitting club, a bit more there on car journeys, a tiny bit in the evenings while watching Quantum Leap. Just chipping away…cos, you know, fair isle knitting is time consuming!


This project definitely honed my fair isle skills and by the time I was onto the front panels I was on a roll…


Before I knew it, it was time to block…


And finally, it was finished in time for the first bright burst of sunshine we had all year…and I was able to do some modelling with a couple of friends in the garden.


I splashed out on rather expensive buttons for my new dreamy waistcoat, but I think something so handsome deserves fancy accessories!


For full instructions see Janet’s blog here. This waistcoat would look amazing in a variety of colourways; the possibilities are endless! It definitely satisfied my waistcoat craving…for now…

4 thoughts on “The dreamboat waistcoat

  1. Hi Emily,
    What a lovely post. You waistcoat looks wonderful. I like your choice of pink, it works really well. Good luck with your new blog – and thank you fro the mention.
    Janet

Leave a Reply

